Men’s Member Guest

Our Men’s Member Guest was played on July 21-23. We had a full field of 18 teams, with 3 flights of 6 teams. The Member Guest tournament was played under sunny but hot conditions. The 2017 Overall Men’s Member Guest Champions were Robert Carter & Craig Gillie. They prevailed in the shootout among the three teams who won their respective flights. The winners in each flight were as follows:

1st Flight – 1st place – Robert Carter & Craig Gillie

2nd place – Travis Aldred & Ryan Wall

2nd Flight – 1st place – Tommy Gardner & Gary McGee

2nd place – Randy Allen & Lance Allen

3rd Flight – 1st place – Dale Musselwhite & Kent Holden

2nd place – Zack Hearon & Brent Scoggins




Firewater Fling

On Saturday, June 10th we had our first “Firewater Fling” golf tournament. Each team was comprised of 8 players who played with just 1 club which was chosen by draw before play started. The team members then played in order of draw (1-8) with whatever club they had. All players used a driver to putt with once you got onto the green. There were 6 teams of 8 players in the event. The winners were:

1st place – Brian Jones, Robert Carter, Tommy Gardner, Jeff Raines, Ethan Waldman, Trey Dusenbury, Keith Gilliland, Craig Culbreth

2nd place – Mike Bates, Steve Hammond, Vernon Dusenbury, Ronnie White, Bob Peck, Randy Allen, John Law, Claudia Law

3rd place – Dave Gunter, Steve Collie, Jerry Pospisil, Tyce Marshall, Richard Connolly, Anne Connolly, Bill Kelly, Peggy Henson

July 4th Flag Tournament

On Tuesday, July 4th we had our annual July 4th “Flag Tournament”. It was a 9 hole individual event where each player was given  a target score, which was par plus their handicap. All players then enjoyed a very nice lunch catered by Paul Ayers. The winners of the golf event were:

1st place – Dennis Sakos -5

2nd place (Tie) – Keith Gilliland -4, Bill Basye -4

4th place (Tie) – David Murphy -1, John Gargiulo -1, Charles McKeller -1, Ted Hiley -1, Susie Ellis -1, Jerry Grabosky -1, Richard Connolly -1





Men’s Member/Member

The Men’s Member/Member golf tournament was  held on June 24 & 25. The format was 9 holes of Scramble and 9 holes of Modified Alternate Shot on Saturday, then 18 holes of Best Ball on Sunday. We had 15 teams to play. The winners were:

1st place Gross – Steve Walker & Randy Allen

1st place Net – Brian Jones & Keith Gilliland

2nd place Gross – Austin Lewellyn & Mike Mitchell

2nd place Net – Sean McKaig & Jarrett McKaig

3rd place Gross – Tommy Gardner & Jeff Raines

3rd place Net – Bill Basye & Jerry Perry

Memorial Day 2017 Tournament News


The Tryon Country Club Memorial Day Golf Tournament was played in perfect weather on May 29. Ten teams participated in the 9 hole Scramble format. Coming in first place for the Gross title with a score of 31 was the team of Randy Allen, Ted Hiley, Jim Shirley and Jerry Lasco. The Net champions, with a score of 24.2, were Bill Kelly, Peggy Henson, Bobby Henson and Dave Gunter. Second place Net went to Stan Haladyna, Bob Morgan and Tyce Marshall with a score of 25.3. The Closest to the Pin winner on Hole #3 was Tyce Marshall. Doug Gelbert won the Closest to the Pin on hole #8.